New IAWRT - Philippines Chapter board announced

The International Association of Women in Radio and Television - Philippines has successfully elected a new set of officers as it continues its effort to revive its chapter here.

"We are excited to have this opportunity to work with an organization that aims to further empower Filipino women journalists, filmmakers and media workers," Jola Diones-Mamangun, newly elected president of IAWRT-Philippines, said.

The election was held at the University of the Philippines - College of Mass Communication last Aug. 8.

Mamangun said the Philippine chapter aims to expand membership in the coming months. They have high hopes to work with women media practitioners working in the dominant, community and the alternative press, she said.

She stressed that the Philippines, considered as one of the most dangerous for journalists, is in great need to unite journalists, especially women, against attacks on press freedom and expression.

IAWRT-Philippines, Mamangun added, would provide a good platform to promote pro-people and gender-sensitive programs.

The newly elected officers are as follow:

President: Jola Diones-Mamangun
Vice President: Ronalyn V. Olea
Secretary: Estrella F. Catarata
Treasurer: May Macapobre
Board Members: Ilang-ilang Quijano and Janet Buelo