Make Women's voices heard... see their lives! The IAWRT Documentary Awards competition is organized every second year at the IAWRT Biennial conference.  The Awards celebrate outstanding documentaries made by women and are open to all female producers, directors and journalists working with radio, television, web and film documentaries anywhere in the world. 

Both IAWRT members and non-members, as well as production companies and independent directors, can submit entries.  The documentaries must portray a woman or women who are making a difference, on their own lives or on the lives of other women.

Entries are assessed by an international jury of IAWRT members and the winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner of the Biennial Conference.
The Awards are given in four categories: 

  • TV/film documentary
  • Radio documentary
  • Webcast video documentary
  • Webcast audio documentary

The Award for the winner in each category is US $1 000.00

Clips or links to the winning documentaries will be posted on the IAWRT website. 

Contact/Coordinator of Awards: Gerd Inger Polden


The IAWRT AWARDS have been an integral part of the IAWRT International Biennial Conferences since 1994. Mette Janson, Norway and Christina Ruhnbro, Sweden, planned and coordinated the first Awards up to 2003. From 2005 Gerd Inger Polden, Norway took over as coordinator.


IAWRT Awards of Excellence were announced at the 36th Biennial Conference of the International  Association of Women in Radio and Television organised by the India Chapter at the Hotel Vivanta by Taj, Dwarka, New Delhi.


Réseau des Femmes Journalistes du Maroc and International Association of Women in Radio and Television have hosted the IAWRT Biennial Conference at Lido hotel, Casablanca from October 24th to 26th.

IAWRT Awards of Excellence was announced at the 34th Biennial Conference of the International  Association of Women in Radio and Television (IAWRT) hosted by IPPTAR, ABU and FOKUS in Kuala Lumpur.